June 16, 2014

Here’s Technorati’s Final List of Top Blogs Before it Disappeared

Technorati was once the gateway into the blogosphere. It was one of the few directories we ever truly used on a consistent basis. On May 29th, 2014, without any announcement, Technorati removed its massive index of blogs, which was segmented by category. If you frequented Technorati, you probably knew that it rated the influence of a blog on a thousand point scale, with the top hundred in each category and overall being prominently positioned on the site. Below is Technorati’s explanation surrounding how Authority is calculated:

Authority is calculated based on a site’s linking behavior, categorization and other associated data over a short, finite period of time. A site’s authority may rapidly rise and fall depending on what the blogosphere is discussing at the moment, and how often a site produces content being referenced by other sites.

Although their directory of hundreds of millions of blogs is gone, removed to enable them to better focus on their ad network, I thought it interesting to save Technorati’s final list of the top 100 blogs. This list was last updated in late May, 2014.

Final Technorati Authority Top 100
Position Site URL Technorati Authority
1. Huffington Post www.huffingtonpost.com
956
2. Buzzfeed www.buzzfeed.com
913
3. The Verge www.theverge.com
898
4. Mashable! mashable.com
889
5. Business Insider www.businessinsider.com
887
6. Gawker www.gawker.com
867
7. Deadspin www.deadspin.com
859
8. TechCrunch www.techcrunch.com
856
9. Gizmodo www.gizmodo.com
850
10. Ars Technica arstechnica.com
848
11. TMZ www.tmz.com
844
12. Mediaite www.mediaite.com
842
12. Bleacher Report bleacherreport.com
842
14. SB Nation www.sbnation.com
837
15. The Blaze www.theblaze.com
835
16. Deadline.com www.deadline.com
828
17. Jezebel jezebel.com
825
18. ZeroHedge www.zerohedge.com
824
19. GigaOM gigaom.com
823
20. CNN Political Ticker politicalticker.blogs.cnn.com
821
21. Think Progress thinkprogress.org
818
22. Hot Air hotair.com
805
22. Laughing Squid laughingsquid.com
805
24. Bits bits.blogs.nytimes.com
799
25. VentureBeat www.venturebeat.com
796
26. IBTimes.com www.ibtimes.com
794
27. The Next Web thenextweb.com
784
28. 9 to 5 Mac 9to5mac.com
782
29. this isn’t happiness. thisisnthappiness.com
781
30. Lifehacker www.lifehacker.com
780
31. Daily Kos www.dailykos.com
774
32. AppleInsider appleinsider.com
772
33. Eurogamer www.eurogamer.net
770
34. PopWatch popwatch.ew.com
767
35. PlayStation.Blog blog.us.playstation.com
766
36. Consumerist consumerist.com
760
36. HollywoodLife.com www.hollywoodlife.com
760
38. ArtsBeat artsbeat.blogs.nytimes.com
758
39. Hit & Run www.reason.com/blog
757
40. TrustedReviews www.trustedreviews.com
756
40. Infowars www.infowars.com
756
42. White House.gov Blog www.whitehouse.gov/blog
754
42. The Foundry: Conservative Policy blog.heritage.org
754
42. EurekAlert! eurekalert.org
754
45. Jalopnik www.jalopnik.com
753
46. Paul Krugman krugman.blogs.nytimes.com
752
46. WSJ.com: Digits blogs.wsj.com/digits
752
48. The Big Lead thebiglead.com
751
49. MacRumors www.macrumors.com
750
49. Flavor Wire flavorwire.com
750
49. Engadget www.engadget.com
750
52. The Official Google Blog googleblog.blogspot.com
749
52. Talking Points Memo www.talkingpointsmemo.com
749
54. Colossal thisiscolossal.com
748
55. Comic Book Movie www.comicbookmovie.com
747
56. RedState www.redstate.com
746
57. Nicholas D. Kristof kristof.blogs.nytimes.com
745
58. Right Wing Watch rightwingwatch.org
742
58. TownHall.com townhall.com
742
60. Bleeding Cool www.bleedingcool.com
739
60. Crooks and Liars www.crooksandliars.com
739
62. Towleroad News www.towleroad.com
738
63. The Local – Sweden’s news www.thelocal.se
737
63. designboom www.designboom.com
737
65. SCOTUSblog www.scotusblog.com
736
66. Cinema Blend www.cinemablend.com
735
67. Matt Cutts www.mattcutts.com/blog
734
68. The Opinionator opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com
732
68. Autoblog www.autoblog.com
732
70. Gizmag www.gizmag.com
731
71. NewsBusters.org newsbusters.org
729
72. Consequence of Sound consequenceofsound.net
728
72. BostonHerald.com Sports www.bostonherald.com/sports
728
74. Refinery29 www.refinery29.com
727
75. Search Engine Land searchengineland.com
726
76. Project Syndicate www.project-syndicate.org
725
76. MLB Rumors mlbtraderumors.com
725
76. FanSided fansided.com
725
79. Grist www.grist.org
724
80. The Lede thelede.blogs.nytimes.com
723
80. American Thinker americanthinker.com
723
80. SlashGear www.slashgear.com
723
83. The Gadgeteer the-gadgeteer.com
720
83. mental_floss Blog www.mentalfloss.com
720
85. BGR www.bgr.com
719
85. Algemeiner www.algemeiner.com
719
87. Open Culture www.openculture.com
717
88. TorrentFreak torrentfreak.com
716
88. kottke.org www.kottke.org
716
90. Social Media Today socialmediatoday.com
715
90. WMPoweruser.com wmpoweruser.com
715
90. MetaFilter www.metafilter.com
715
90. Hypebeast www.hypebeast.com
715
94. Well well.blogs.nytimes.com
714
94. Android Phone Fans phandroid.com
714
96. 22 Words twentytwowords.com
713
96. Neatorama www.neatorama.com
713
98. Watts Up With That? wattsupwiththat.com
712
98. TreeHugger www.treehugger.com
712
98. Newser www.newser.com
712

Filed under:  Cyberculture Social Media  ||  Tagged under:
Author:

Orun Bhuiyan

As SEOcial's marketing technologist, Orun loves to discuss his hard-won knowledge on topics like SEO, programming and design. He's an enthusiast in emerging technologies, including big data and the semantic web.
Leave a comment
comments powered by Disqus

Base Terminology

SEO is the process of affecting the visibility of a website or a web page in a search engine's un-paid ("organic") search results.
The semantic web refers to the next stage of the world wide web and aims to ascribe semantic meaning to all web content through a collection of systems of classification. This means that, in the future, machines will be able to better understand the content we produce, resulting in better search results, new applications and an Internet that is fundamentally different from the one we use today!
What if each of the objects around you had a unique identifier that can be connected to the Internet? The goal of the Internet of things is to equip all objects in the world with tags that allow them to be digitally organized or manipulated. The implications? Less theft, less waste and the ability to control your surroundings in a manner never before possible.
Conversion optimization is the practice of modifying the parameters of a lead-generating system to stimulate a higher success rate as defined by goals. Most conversion optimization is structured to create an increase in ROI (return on investment). We frequently use multivariate and A/B split testing when optimizing conversion, wherein we test two or more systems at the same time, analyze their performance and deduce precisely what action items will bring us closest to the set goals in the least amount of time.
Market diagnostics or analytics is the process of collecting and analyzing business data — especially consumer data. This allows us to assess and improve the effectiveness of a marketing campaign.
In many applications today, there is such a phenomenal quantity of data available that it's difficult to collect and process with traditional database tools. The field of collecting, manipulating and drawing conclusions from massive quantities of data from a particular source is known as big data.
What started as a CMS (content management system) that was only meant to create and edit blog content has grown at a tremendous rate to become the most ubiquitous system for developing websites on the internet. WordPress accounts for an incredible 15% of all sites on the web.

Vending machines. Make it happen. @NespressoUSA @NespressoCA

2 weeks ago

@derekdevries drop us a line and we'll explain the theoretical methodology of Google Suggest Bombing and how it relates.

3 months ago

@derekdevries @mattlieberman Sadly, methodology wouldn't matter because @sourcefed fundamentally misunderstood who Google Suggest even works

3 months ago

Request Our Portfolio





  1. Which option best describes you? *

  2. Are you a key decision maker in the business you represent? *